The Australian Microbeam Analysis Society (AMAS)

To improve the practice and instrumentation of microbeam analysis in Australian laboratories by training, disseminating information, encouraging publication of work and facilitating interaction between practising microanalysts.

About Us

The Australian Microbeam Analysis Society (AMAS) is a special interest group of the Australian Microscopy and Microanalysis Society (AMMS).

AMAS is a non-profit organization dedicated to the promotion and advancement of the knowledge of the science and practice of all microanalysis techniques useful for investigating the ultrastructure and function of materials in diverse areas of biological, materials, medical and physical sciences.

Members of AMAS meet nationally at the biennial AMAS Symposium and on alternate years at the biennial conference of AMMS.



Recent/Upcoming Events

AMAS XIIV - The 14th Biennial Symposium & Workshops
Date(s): 6-10 Feb 2017
Venue: Queensland University of Technology (QUT) Brisbane, Australia

Chair: Henrietta Cathey



Membership information
Click here


Contact Information

The executive committee would be pleased to hear from you. If you wish to contact a specific office holder, please see the list below.


AMAS Executive Committee


President: Dr Ric Wuhrer
Advanced Materials Characterisation Facility
University of Western Sydney
Richard.Wuhrer@uws.edu.au

Secretary: Angus Netting
Adelaide Microscopy
University of Adelaide, SA 5005
Ph 08 8303 5855
angus.netting@adelaide.edu.au

Treasurer: Mark Blackford
Institute of Materials Engineering
ANSTO, Locked Bag 2001
Kirrawee DC, NSW 2232
mgb@ansto.gov.au

Regional Representatives

ACT: Dr Frank Brink
RSBS, Australian National University
Canberra, ACT 0200
frank.brink@anu.edu.au

NSW: Dr Ric Wuhrer
Advanced Materials Characterisation Facility
University of Western Sydney
Richard.Wuhrer@uws.edu.au

QLD: Ron Rasch
CMM, UQ, St Lucia, QLD 4072
r.rasch@mailbox.uq.edu.au

SA: Angus Netting
Adelaide Microscopy
University of Adelaide, SA 5005
Ph 08 8303 5855
angus.netting@adelaide.edu.au

TAS: Karsten Goemann
University of Tasmania
karsten.goemann@utas.edu.au

VIC: Mark Greaves
CSIRO, Materials Science and Eng.
Locked Bag 10, Clayton South VIC 3169
mark.greaves@csiro.au

WA: Prof Brendan Griffin
CMCA, UWA
Ph 08 6488 2739 Fax 08 6488 1087
brendan.griffin@uwa.edu.au